I've been meaning to make this tote for ages now, and last week I finally dove into my fabric stash and came up with enough odds and ends to make it!  There is such a great sense of accomplishment when you finally finish a project that you've been procrastinating over for a long time, isn't there? 

This little beauty is actually a mail bag--I swear, we receive more mail than anyone in the country, and I always go to collect it when I go for a stroll around the neighborhood with my Charlie Dog.  I'm all about multi-tasking, but we run into problems when I have Charlie's leash in one hand and my phone, mail bag, and keys in the other one.  If it is really hot and I'm wearing a skirt or shorts, I usually don't have a pocket to use, so I was in dire need of a multi-functional tote where I could stash my phone and keys as well as the mail.  And here it is!
I used a natural heavy cotton twill for the body of the bag and lined it with a pretty summery blue paisley, then added a contrasting stripe of the lining fabric around the outside.  I liked the blue paisley so much that I ended up using it as contrast for the handles as well, and placed them so they would be visible on the right side of the tote.
Inside I used a repurposed blue shirt pocket (my husband's old shirt has been reincarnated in countless projects now!) and also attached a long grosgrain ribbon with a key fob to attach my keys.
I had originally planned on using pink floral scrap fabric from Sophie Kitty's little tent, but when I went to cut out the lining, I realized that I didn't have enough of it for this project... so I had to set aside my crochet cutie flowers in shades of pink and purple and whipped up a few new ones in blues and peach with some embroidery floss I had hidden away.  My sewing and crafting stash never ceases to amaze me--I swear, I have things in it that I'm sure I have long forgotten!
I'm so pleased with this tote--I debuted it last week, and it makes my life so much easier when it comes to mail time!  I love the fact that it's kind of pretty and girly without being too 'every little girl is a princess'-esque.  I confess I have issues with that.
I have to admit that I've had a terrible time trying to photograph it...  the colors just aren't coming out true to shade, and every shot seems to look dull and lifeless.  Apologies for that.
As Charlie is my constant mail-collecting companion, when he decided to photo bomb my little snapshot session, I decided to include him--he gives this project his seal of approval!
Here we are in another week again...  what are you working on this week?!

Happy Crafting!
3/18/2013 06:14:55 am

That is the cutest mailbag to go with the cutest pup in the world. I'd probably have resorted to reusing a plastic bag! LOL

Reply
3/18/2013 07:01:12 am

Thanks, Sherry! I was using a plastic freebie tote from Origins--but this one is much more functional! :-)

Reply
3/18/2013 10:54:26 am

Wow, your tote is beautiful! What a great idea to repurpose a shirt pocket. Fantastic photos too and as you know I am a big fan of furry friends photo bombing the snapshot session. Well done Charlie and Leisa!

Reply
3/18/2013 11:12:50 am

Thanks, Anne! I'm quite pleased with how it turned out... and Charlie always makes everything a little bit cuter :-)

Reply
3/19/2013 11:26:37 pm

I adore this tote! Gosh I wish I had my sewing machine here with me, miss her so, so much. I love it!

Thanks for sharing :D

Ca,i

Reply
3/20/2013 01:57:24 pm

Thanks, Camila! I know what you mean--when I'm away and don't have my machine with me, I always see things that inspire me to create, and I miss it terribly :-) So glad you stopped by!

Reply
3/20/2013 12:01:47 pm

Hi Leisa,
What a wonderful post. I love your bag and admire your handiwork.
The crocheted blossoms are sweet and your crochet is meticulous.

I'm so glad you stopped by my blog. Thank you for your kind comments.
Have a wonderful evening,
Carolynn xo

Reply
3/20/2013 01:58:49 pm

Thank you so much, Carolynn! It always means so much coming from fellow creators :-)

Reply
3/21/2013 02:12:38 am

This is so pretty! I love the simplicity of the exterior - it is very elegant! Thanks for sharing!

Reply
3/22/2013 01:47:20 pm

Thank you! I love simple yet still pretty things :-) I'm glad you like it!

Reply
3/22/2013 12:16:47 pm

This is so cute! Charlie is adorable!

Reply
3/22/2013 01:49:04 pm

Thanks, Mimi! Charlie is my constant companion and furry love <3

Reply
3/24/2013 04:54:14 am

Leisa, love your fun tote. The addition of the shirt pocket is so clever. The fabrics are so sweet along with the flowers and leaves. Charlie knows a good thing when he sees it! Thanks for sharing it with Share Your Cup.
hugs,
Jann

Reply
3/26/2013 01:07:45 pm

This bag is beautiful- love the lining and the crocheted flowers! My favorite part is the shirt pocket- what a great repurpose!

Reply
5/28/2013 03:58:57 am

Oh how lovely!

I would love for you to link up at the <a href="http://mumsmakelists.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/empty-your-archive-10.html#HandMadeBags">Mommy Archive</a> - we're focusing on all sorts of hand made bags this week, Alice x

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.