Lately I'm really loving flowers...  the beautiful bougainvillea are flourishing all around our neighborhood and their cheery shades of pink bring a big smile to my face as Charlie and I take our daily strolls.  He seems unimpressed by their tropical hues, but I find them enchanting.  My recent Happy Scrappy Flower endeavor sent me into fanciful imaginings of a garden of fabric scrap flowers, blooming happily indoors to be enjoyed year-round.

I've been coming up with new projects to create using my fabric scrap stash so that I can look at the pieces I so loved when I bought them, and enjoy them every day.  During the past week I've squeezed a bit of creation into my endless days spent in the digital realm, and I picked out my very favorite prints to be used.
While getting all the prints together, I ran across the remains of my husband's old shirt that I have torn up and used for everything from Sophie's Kitty Quilt to my favorite Framed Patchwork Memories.  It was still sporting its collar, which had lovely multi-colored stitches at its edge... perfect for a unique fabric flower!  It's amazing what you can make when you look ordinary things with just  a bit of imagination!
My stolen handwork moments added up to a whimsical  garden of fabric flowers, and I decided they would fit beautifully on the grapevine wreath I had kicking around crying out for embellishment.
Picture
I didn´t realize it when I posted this pic.... but can anyone spot the lizard?
I am so pleased with my 'breath of spring' wreath--it makes me happy to see so many of my favorite fabric prints all snuggled together where I can see them every day!

If anyone is interested in creating their own fabric flower wreath, you can take a look at my scrap flower tutorial and just let your imagination run wild--make a bunch of the flowers in different sizes and colors, and attach them to your own wreath.   A great weekend project to brighten the winter days.

Voila--instant spring!

Happy Crafting!
2/23/2013 08:05:19 am

That is the most lovely wreath I've seen in a long while. You are so freakin talented!

Reply
2/23/2013 08:21:54 am

Thanks, Sherry! I love to putter around :-)
I hope you and the furries are having a great weekend!

Reply
2/23/2013 11:31:16 pm

Leisa! Wow! I love your wreath. It's great that you creatively used all the materials that you already had on hand. You have definitely inspired me to go through my craft supplies and start creating! Just tweaked my guest bedroom with repurposed items. I'm following along now. I'll be checking out your tutorial. Thanks for visiting me. Lucky you getting to see flowers in bloom in your neck of the woods. We still have snow on the ground here in Michigan!

Reply
2/24/2013 12:11:30 am

Thank you, Sandy! I am terrible--I always keep the scraps from fabric projects, no matter how small, and I love finding inventive uses for them :-) I'm so glad to have you here--thank you for following!

Have a great weekend, and stay warm in your winter wonderland... I miss that--I grew up in a very cold part of the world, and some days I long to look outside and see that blanket of white covering the ground! Enjoy every moment, the seasons are such a blessing!

Reply
2/23/2013 11:47:40 pm

This is quite lovely and creative!

Reply
2/24/2013 12:12:13 am

Thank you, Debra! I'm so glad you dropped by :-)

Reply
2/24/2013 02:07:27 am

Beautiful work, Leisa - such a pretty wreath! I miss seeing bougainvillea - there used to be all sorts of it in our neighborhood in San Diego.

xo
Claudia

Reply
2/24/2013 12:11:25 pm

Thank you, Claudia! I love the beautiful, cheery sight of bougainvillea--it seems to brighten every corner, doesn't it?

Reply
2/24/2013 04:51:58 am

Cute wreath! I love the fabric flowers!!!

Navy Wifey Peters @ Submarine Sunday Link Party
<a href="http://www.usscrafty.blogspot.com/2013/02/submarine-sunday-20.html#more">http://www.usscrafty.blogspot.com/2013/02/submarine-sunday-20.html#more</a>

Reply
2/24/2013 12:12:12 pm

Thank you, T'onna!

Reply
2/24/2013 07:27:27 am

Hi. Glad to found this blog, I'd subscribe to follow. You have a lot of good ideas.

Reply
2/24/2013 12:13:13 pm

Thank you, Helena! I'm so glad you dropped by! Thank you for subscribing :-)

Reply
2/26/2013 10:00:10 am

Pretty wreath!! Your flowers came out nice, I love the color combinations!

Reply
2/26/2013 10:09:05 am

Thank you, Ann! I love using non-traditional colors for my flower creations :-) Thanks so much for stopping by!

Reply
2/27/2013 02:42:28 am

This is absolutely adorable! I'm prepping my house for sale and was looking for new ideas for a front door wreath. I think I've found my inspiration.

thanks!
Jen @ Noting Grace

Reply
2/27/2013 02:45:36 am

Thank you, Jen! I'm so glad you stopped by--best of luck with staging your house :-)

Reply
2/27/2013 04:10:15 am

This is such a lovely way to display fabrics and I can think of such a place to put a wreath. Thank you for the tutorial. Will have a go this weekend. Thanks. Chel

Reply
2/27/2013 10:49:28 pm

Thank you! I hope you give it a try--it is so easy, it just takes scrap fabrics and a bit of time and patience :-) Have a great weekend, Chel!

Reply
2/27/2013 08:49:42 pm

I LOVE this pretty spring wreath -- so beautiful!!!
BTW - thanks for your sweet comment on my blog!

Reply
2/27/2013 10:54:55 pm

Thank you! Happy Weekend!

Reply
3/3/2013 12:26:34 pm

The flowers are so fun. I love the added interest of the stitching too! Great way to welcome Spring. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
hugs,
Jann

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.