There's nothing like colorful flowers to brighten your day--each morning as I stumble downstairs to the kitchen in desperate search of coffee, I always throw open the big curtains to expose the tall windows lining the whole back of our house.  Our garden lies just beyond those windows, abloom in glorious color even during the winter months.  Yay, Florida!
A few more happy pink flowers are going into planters today, and they are in good company with the established players...
I absolutely love flowers... when they are alive and growing outside.  I have issues with cut flowers in vases inside the house--unfortunately my allergies don't allow me the luxury of indoor bouquets very often.

Sad, because I found the most adorable little vase recently...
The little crocheted doilie it rests on is one of my absolute favorites--I found it at a charity shop in Edinburgh.  The thrift shops in the UK are amazing--I miss them so much!  I always found such interesting items--and a lot of crafting supplies and books as well.  Oh to spend the afternoon in Morningside browsing... sigh.
I decided that a fabric flower would be perfect for the vase, and went to my scrap fabric stash.  This little project takes more patience than materials, and you just need a few scraps of fabric, a bead (I used a pearl), a scrap of felt, and a piece of floral wire (I confess that I pilfered one from a dollar store flower I had kicking around in my craft room).

Here's how to make a cute little patchwork flower to brighten your day:
Here I should point out that the disc of felt is large enough so that it will cover the raw edges underneath your flower.  Cut it out and poke a hole in the center of the felt using the floral wire.  Doing this will make it easy to insert the fabric-wrapped wire through the felt after the next step.
You can secure the ends of the scrap fabric with a dab of hot glue.  

Make a twist at one end of the wire to stop it from going through the felt disc. 

Carefully insert the fabric-wrapped wire into the hole in the felt disc and ease it through until you can hold the end of the fabric against the wire so it will not slide along as you pull the felt disc toward the end of the wire with the twist.  This will be the flower end.
What a great way to use up tiny little scraps of favorite fabrics!  I think I'll make a few more and have a lovely little patchwork bouquet...
The best part?  No need for Allegra!
I'm away to stitch a whole bouquet...  happy Friday, everyone!
Flowers... are a proud assertion that
a ray of beauty outvalues all the utilities of the world.
Ralph Waldo Emerson
2/8/2013 11:28:25 pm

Ahhh...the flowers...beautiful. What a great little tutorial, Leisa!

Reply
2/9/2013 12:06:56 am

Thanks, Anne! I really enjoyed making it... I hope you're staying safe and warm in your snowy corner of the world today!

Reply
2/9/2013 07:59:00 am

Leisa, What a lovely way to enjoy an indoor flower and the cute little vase! Your outside flowers are also amazing! As I sit here and write it is brown with white coming down.

Reply
2/9/2013 02:32:29 pm

Thanks, Sherry! We are lucky to enjoy the flowers and sunshine year-round... but I confess I would love to trade places with you for a day or two and enjoy your winter wonderland... Charlie Dog would have a field day running around and exploring :-)

Reply
AnAa Lopes
2/9/2013 10:26:54 pm

Such a lovely post!!! Love the fabric flower so much! Thanks so much for sharing the great tutorial!
Have a fabulous weekend!
Hugs from Portugal,

Ana Love Craft
www.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

Reply
2/10/2013 01:02:28 am

Thank you, I'm so glad you like them! Happy weekend from Miami
:-)

Reply

How pretty! We don't see many flowers in the south this time of year since the skies are gray and the weather is so cold. This would be a very economical way to enjoy pretty flowers and cheerful color. Thanks for sharing your tutorial and for visiting my blog today.

Reply
2/10/2013 09:53:28 am

Thanks, Shannon! We can all use a little pick-me-up in the winter, can't we? :-) I'm so glad you dropped by!

Reply
Beth @ The First Year Blog
2/10/2013 02:47:22 am

Hi Leisa! Oh these are adorable, send me some :-) haha. Thanks for stopping by my site, The First Year Blog, earlier today! I wanted to let you know that the gluten free flour I use is Cooqi Gluten Free and you can buy it online here: http://www.cooqiglutenfree.com/products
I love it!

Beth @ The First Year Blog

Reply
2/10/2013 09:55:29 am

Thanks so much, Beth! I'm going to check it out--I've stopped eating wheat and I feel so much better, but sometimes I just want a
'cheat' snack :-) Thanks for the website!

Reply

You did a great job creating the fabric flower and your tutorial is easy to understand. I think I will try to make some from my stash of fabric. By the way, I often have recipes for wheat free or gluten free food on my blog. Take a look sometime and perhaps you will find something helpful to you. Shannon

Reply
2/10/2013 12:06:22 pm

Thanks, Shannon! They're easy and quick to make, and turn out to be so cute--I plan to make a bunch for another project this week :-) Thanks for the heads up--I'm going to take a look now... I love to find new wheat-free treats... Thanks for stopping by!

Reply
2/12/2013 11:38:01 pm

Oh this is just lovely! I was wanting to make some kind of fabric flower and this one would be perfect for what I want - thank you so much for sharing your creativity :)

Also, thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a sweet comment - I greatly appreciate it.

Have a Happy Valentine's Day!

Hugs,
Stephanie

Reply
2/14/2013 02:29:51 am

I'm so glad you like it, Stephanie! I hope you share your own creation when it's finished :-) Thank you so much for dropping by--Happy Valentine's Day!

Reply
2/13/2013 01:21:03 pm

Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful tutorial at Simple & Sweet Fridays. I love how the fabric flower turned out, so pretty!
Happy Valentine's.

Jody

Reply
2/14/2013 02:30:56 am

Thank you, Jody--I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :-) Happy Valentine's Day!

Reply
2/14/2013 03:05:13 am

Wonderful tutorial and the flower is beautiful. Thanks for sharing.
Ali x

Reply
2/14/2013 03:19:49 am

Thanks, Ali--I'm glad you enjoyed it! Happy Valentine's Day!

Reply
2/14/2013 03:11:48 am

Beautiful flower, thanks for sharing!

Reply
2/14/2013 03:20:30 am

Thank you, Rein! Happy Valentine's Day!

Reply
2/14/2013 09:51:29 pm

This is lovely. What a great step by step tutorial. Thanks for linking up to The Weekly Creative!

Shannon @ Sewing Barefoot

Reply
2/20/2013 01:23:47 am

I'm so glad you enjoyed it, Shannon! Thanks :-)

Reply
2/17/2013 11:14:37 am

Hi, I dropped over from Cuddlebug Cuties link party. I love the flower. Great tutorial. I'm your newest follower. Hope you will visit my blog sometime and follow if you like, I love making new friends.
Best
Angel

Reply
2/20/2013 01:24:51 am

I'm so glad you dropped by, Angel! Thank you for following me! :-)

Reply
2/18/2013 03:38:26 am

Very pretty bouquet! I remember making these when I was in high school....a looooong time ago. The verigated colors in yours turned out so beautiful and eye catching. Great job!

BTW I stopped in from Cuddlebug Cuties Sunday Linky paryt.

Reply
2/20/2013 01:25:56 am

Thanks, Deb! So simple to make, and yet so pretty--I'm glad you dropped by! :-)

Reply
2/20/2013 01:01:26 am

What a cute way to bring some everlasting flowers indoors. Also love your beautiful garden blooms. Can't wait to get out and work in my garden! Go away snow!! lol Thanks for sharing with Share Your Cup.
hugs,
Jann

Reply
2/20/2013 01:27:04 am

Thanks, Jann! I hope your winter days are short :-)

Reply
2/23/2013 11:36:56 pm

Love the fabrics! My dream is to one day visit the English countryside and peruse the little antique shops but there are plenty of quaint little villages right here in the states! I'm going to have to get out my fabric scraps and give these flowers a try!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.