Picture
Mr Charlie Rose resting after his first bath with us!
It was on the night of January 6th 2011 that my husband and I made an evening  run to the mall for frozen yogurt.  We never did get that yogurt, but instead  found a dirty, starving little dog running around desperately in the parking  lot.  It took us a full hour to get him to trust us (we went to the food court  and bought meat... that helped), but eventually he calmed down and sat down on  the sidewalk with his head in my lap, looking up at me with huge brown eyes.  I  swear he was asking for help...

We brought him home, cleaned him up, took him to the vet for his shots... and he   wasn't chipped.  It's very unusual to find a Schnauzer running around as a stray, so we assume that he either got lost and kept on running, or someone  abandoned him.  I suspect that he was abandoned, because for the first year of   his time with us he would whine and draw away from me if I picked up the broom in his presence.  The suggestion of past abuse brought me to tears, and he got lots of extra reassurance and love.

Now here we are two years later, and it's hard to remember a time when Charlie Rose (yes, I have many nicknames for my furry boy) wasn't with us.

We never did get our frozen  yogurt, but we found a  wonderful companion that night.
~A person who has never owned a dog has missed a wonderful part of life~
                                                                                  
                                                                                                                                                  Bob Barker
1/6/2013 01:33:38 am

Awww what a cutie and so glad you guys found him.

Reply
1/7/2013 11:54:26 pm

Hi Leisa - thanks for visiting my blog and your lovely comments.

This is such a nice story, I feel happy just reading it. It's desperately sad that you would see an abandoned and possibly mistreated animal roaming in a parking lot, but how wonderful that you were able to bring him into your home and love him.

Gillian x

Reply
1/19/2013 12:27:32 am

Isn't he adorable! What a sweet story... and I love the quote at the end.

Thanks for stopping by my blog and sharing some English Toffee Pudding love.

Hope you're having a great weekend!

¤´¨)
¸.·´¸.·*´¨) ¸.·*¨)
(¸.·´ (¸.·`¤... Jennifer
http://jennsrandomscraps.blogspot.ca

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.